Search for Safety Ratings

BMW 5 Series

Year Range

Mar 2017 – onwards

Applies to

New Zealand 520d only


Medium Car Medium car

The tested model of BMW 5 Series was introduced in Australia and New Zealand in March 2017. This ANCAP safety rating applies to New Zealand 520d variants only. Other variants are unrated.

Dual frontal, side chest and side head-protecting airbags (curtains) and a driver knee airbag are standard. Autonomous emergency braking (AEB), lane support systems (LSS), adaptive cruise control (ACC) and intelligent speed assistance (ISA) are standard.

A full list of safety features and technologies can be viewed within the Technical Report (see link adjacent).

Published: 12 April 2017

ANCAP Safety Ratings for Medium Cars

ANCAP Safety Ratings for All Vehicles

Member Organisations.