22 Oct 2012

ANCAP safety rating to determine insurance and finance

The Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) commends the announcement by the Royal Automobile Club of Western Australia (RAC WA) to only insure or finance cars which have been rated by ANCAP and awarded an ANCAP safety rating of either 4 or 5 stars.

This announcement by RAC WA - one of ANCAP's 22 member organisations - applies to cars manufactured in 2012 and beyond as part of the RAC WA's Safer Cars Program.

The campaign aims to encourage consumers to check the ANCAP safety rating before purchasing a new car, and in turn, reinforce the importance of driving a vehicle with a higher level of safety.

"This innovative initiative by the RAC WA is yet another way we can make consumers aware of the importance of safer vehicles," said ANCAP Chairman, Mr Lauchlan McIntosh.

"There are many fleets, leasing companies and businesses employing policies which require minimum ANCAP safety ratings. Initiatives such as these will have a significant effect on the road toll."

"The road toll in Western Australia for the year to date stands at 133 - 13.53% of the national toll so far in 2012 - and through the introduction of the RAC's Safer Cars Program, the unnecessary loss of life across WA will no doubt be reduced as a result."

"This presents an opportunity for all other motor vehicle insurers and financiers to implement similar policies with the common goal being to get consumers into safer cars," said Mr McIntosh.

ANCAP has published the results of 35 new 4 and 5 star cars so far in 2012. For a full list of ANCAP safety ratings and model specifications, and vehicle safety information visit ancap.com.au.

ANCAP is supported by all Australian and New Zealand motoring clubs, the Australian Government, the New Zealand Government, Australian state and territory governments, the Victorian Transport Accident Commission, NRMA Insurance and the FIA Foundation.

Media Contact
Rhianne Robson
Director - Communications & Advocacy
0408 296 550