26 Sep 2022

ANCAP builds on test and rating criteria for 2023.

The next step-change in vehicle safety rating criteria will take effect from next year as ANCAP, Australasia’s independent voice on vehicle safety, broadens its test and rating criteria.

From January 2023 ANCAP, which shares common test and rating protocols with its European counterpart Euro NCAP, will expand its criteria by adding new and updated tests and assessments to its star rating regime to incentivise a continued high level of safety offered to Australian, New Zealand and European car buyers.

These changes form part of ANCAP and Euro NCAP’s regular regime enhancements which encourage continual safety improvements every few years. The previous step-change in criteria took effect from January 2020.

“Our 2023 requirements build upon our existing criteria to promote further vehicle safety improvements and address some of the ongoing challenges on our roads,” said ANCAP Chief Executive Officer, Carla Hoorweg.

ANCAP’s expanded 2023 test and assessment criteria will include new areas such as the ability of a vehicle to avoid a crash with a motorcyclist, child presence detection, and vehicle submergence.

Several existing assessment areas will also be enhanced, including:

  • a heighted focus on vehicle-to-vehicle compatibility (introducing a potential 8.00 point penalty compared with the current 4.00 point penalty);
  • a 10 per cent increase to the star rating thresholds for Vulnerable Road User Protection;
  • the assessment of direct driver monitoring systems to manage driver inattention and fatigue; and
  • an expansion of autonomous emergency braking test scenarios to include additional night-time tests and child pedestrian avoidance tests when a vehicle is in reverse.

“Vehicles, and the safety technologies within them, are continuing to evolve, and our test criteria are too,” Ms Hoorweg said.

“Physical protection in a crash, and the ability to actively avoid a crash are both essential elements to achieve a high ANCAP safety rating, and this approach will continue from 2023.”

The requirements set for each star rating level are designed to encourage vehicles that provide a good balance of passive safety - how well a vehicle will protect you and your occupants if you have a crash, and active safety - the ability of a vehicle to prevent or minimise the outcomes of a crash through active collision avoidance systems.

“ANCAP safety ratings are designed to ensure new car buyers and the road users they interact with are offered the safest vehicles and newest technologies. We encourage all vehicle purchasers to choose a vehicle with the highest ANCAP safety rating possible and the latest datestamp. It could save your life, or the lives of those closest to you,” said Ms Hoorweg.

Learn more about what’s new from 2023 at: https://youtu.be/fOZXwM5Qff0


Media Contact
Rhianne Robson
Director - Communications & Advocacy
0408 296 550